Reflections

Blogger vs. WordPress

I am a long-time fan of Blogger (I used it for years to host my personal blog, Traveling Delights, as well as for six years with my classroom blog, The Chalkboard), but my recent experiences with WordPress have been very positive…perhaps positive enough to persuade me away from my dear friend Blogger.  I really like the simple, user-friendly nature of Blogger.  Maybe it is because I have been using it for a long time, but I do think the set-up is a little more accessible than WordPress.  However, WordPress wins out on the extensive features.  One simple example is the ability to add .pdf, .ppt and Word documents to posts.  I can’t seem to make this work on Blogger and I can’t figure out why they haven’t added this feature.  It is key for a classroom blog because it allows you to make documents accessible to parents and students on the blog, rather than having to send them as attachments in emails.  I think the Widgets, Layouts and Themes are easier to manage in Blogger, but I really love the huge selection of Themes available in WordPress.  There also seems to be greater flexibility in terms of authors and involved contributors with WordPress, which is a huge asset for a teaching blog.  In fact, this may be one of the more significant draws to WordPress as I consider moving to a more interactive classroom blog next year (I am currently the only contributor and editor).

I would definitely recommend Blogger to any teacher getting started with blogging as it has been more than adequate, but I think WordPress brings more to the table.  You can go here for a more detailed breakdown of these two leading blog-hosting services.

Leave a Reply

